Skip navigation

I have a love-hate relationship with most ” hyped-up” festive seasons here in Singapore.

Most of the time, I would love to join in the fun but it’s just freakin’ expensive to dine out or simply go to a club on such occasions.

Chinese New Year has just passed and I haven’t even recover from all the New Year goodies catastrophe and then came Valentine’s Day . I was racking my brains thinking of what to make for Dizzy on our 4th V day together and voila! I found what I need on my favourite magazine Nonno.

Here’s the result of my experimentation:

Chocolate heart-shape cookies for ma' man!

Chocolate heart-shape cookies for ma' man!

It was so easy to make and the only problem I had was finding the heart-shape cutter for it.

Luckily, the shop that I swear by my life — DAISO — did not fail me and I found the cutest looking cookie and vegetable cutter there for only 2 bucks!!!!

Since the original recipe is in Japanese, I will be providing the translated version here for the benefit of everyone!

Chocolate Heart Cookies ( チョコレートハートクッキー )

Ingredients (Yields 15 servings)

Butter – 100 grams

Sugar – 70 grams

Egg Yolk – 1

Semi-sweet or milk chocolate bar – 60 grams

All-purpose flour – 170 grams

Corn Starch – 30 grams

Cocoa Powder – 15 grams

Directions
1. Soften butter at room temperature and place into a mixing bowl. Add in sugar and whisk until both ingredients has combined (mixture turns whitish-yellow). Stir in the egg yolk and continue to whisk til combined.

2. Melt chocolate bar over a double-boiler until it liquidfies. Combine mixture 1 together with it.

3. Combine all-purpose flour, corn starch and cocoa powder and sieve this into the chocolate mixture. You should get a thick sturdy dough after this.

4. Knead the dough into a ball and use cling-wrap to cover it tightly. Chill it in the refridgerator for 1 hour or overnight.

5. Remove the dough after chilling it and flatten it out using a roller. You can do this while the dough is still wrapped in cling-wrap. *Warning: Do not over flatten! Give a wide range of 1-1.5cm height in order for the cookies to turn out pretty*

6. After flattening to the desired size, use the cookie cutter to cut heart shapes out of the dough. Place cookies on a bakin dish and bake for 8 mins at 170 degress Celsius. You may choose to ice the cookies after it has totally cooled down.

Hope you will enjoy this recipe!

Yonia

2 Comments

  1. wow lovely cookies 🙂


Leave a Reply

